Monte Cook Departs Wizards of the Coast

I’m sure the limited audience of my blog have all heard the news by now, and I don’t really have too much to add to the rampant speculation discussion (let’s face it though, I have plenty of my own speculation). However, considering I’ve been going on about Arcana Unearthed the past week or so, I’d feel remiss if I didn’t at least make mention of it.

From 2001 until 2006, Monte Cook was my favorite game designer without question. In fact, he’s the person who made me even care about game designers as individuals. I felt 3rd Edition was a huge, fresh improvement to Dungeons & Dragons, and his work on the d20 System through Malhavoc Press was inspiring to me on several levels.

Arcana Unearthed probably remains my favorite setting, although Dark Sun, Council of Wyrms, and Eberron come close. (Sadly I never played much Planescape, which is a little ironic in the circumstances, but I feel I would have enjoyed it.)

I have a lot of mixed feelings about D&D Next, so Monte leaving the project doesn’t necessarily impact me as much as you might think, but I do wish him luck in his future endeavors and I think I’ll be keeping a closer eye on what he’s doing these days. I lost track after I got out of college, perhaps because he’d also gotten out of RPG design for a while, so we’ll see what happens!

